Each state has its own rules regarding DUI charges, and California has a reputation for being particularly strict. While many counties and cities have their own DUI rules and protocols, California generally requires fines and jail time for driving under the influence, dependent upon how many times you have been convicted of this crime. Your next steps after being charged with a DUI are crucial, and understanding them will help you make the best decisions for yourself. This guide will walk you through the process of DUI in California.
What Are the Consequences of DUI Charges in California?
If you are charged with a DUI in California, you are facing several potential penalties in the event that you are convicted. Remember that the penalties only get steeper if there is an accident or injury associated with your charge as well.
First time convictions are considered misdemeanors in California, coming with a hefty penalty of about $1,800 in addition to a possible license restriction and 48 hours in jail. You may also be required to complete an alcohol treatment program. Probation is also extremely common on top of all the other penalties.
Each of these penalties is also associated with subsequent DUI convictions in California, but they also become more intense. For instance, you may face 10 days in jail rather than two days.
Understand Steps of the Court System
Once you are charged with DUI in California and face a court date, you will be called in to participate in pre-trial proceedings. During this time, you will be asked to review and provide information as it goes back and forth between your counsel and the state. During this time, you might be able to come up with an effective plea bargain. Your attorney will be of great assistance during this time.
Hiring a Criminal Attorney Is Smart
If you are facing a DUI charge in California, it is smart to hire an attorney to represent you. Hiring an attorney is not an admission of guilt. In fact, hiring an attorney could be the very reason why you realize you do not have to plead guilty. Evidence can be thrown out of cases involving DUI charges, but those not well-acquainted with the laws might not realize the options available.
When you find yourself being charged with a California DUI, hiring an attorney is the first thing you should do. Get in touch with a criminal attorney as soon as possible to learn more about your options. For more information, contact a law firm such as Boehmer Law.Share